sâmbătă, 22 decembrie 2007

Keith Richards - Live at the Hollywood Palladium, December 15, 1988

Keith Richards released Live at the Hollywood Palladium in 1991 in US and 1992 in UK. It is a live album recorded on the 15th of December 1988, during the American tour, which was in support of the Talk is Cheap album. Keith Richards was supported by some friends and musicians labeled as "The X-Pensive Winos". This included Keith Richards, Steve Jordan, Charley Drayton, Waddy Wachtel, Sarah Dash and Ivan Neville. Bobby Keys also played the saxophone, him being a longtime contributer to the Rolling Stones. What is ironic is that the Hollywood Palladium, the place where the concert was recorded is the same Sunset Strip theater that saw Keith Richards being thrown off stage in 1972, when he wanted to join his idol Chuck Berry.

During the tour, Richards' set was mainly made out of material coming from his solo debut album. Ten of the 11 songs from the album were played but there were also some of the many Rolling Stones vocal highlights included. "Happy", "Too Rude" and "Connection" do appear on the official release, others do not. This includes "Before They Make Me Run" and "Little T&A", which are a part of the shows and are included in popular bootlegs like L.A. Connection. The official Live at the Hollywood Palladium album is actually called Live at the Hollywood Palladium, December 15, 1988 and does not feature the entire concert of the evening. On the other hand it features "Time is on My Side", sung by Sarah Dash. You will also find the sung "I Wanna Be Your Man", by Richards, something that is characteristic to the Rolling Stones, founded back in 1962.

It was Jane Rose, Keith Richards' tenured manager that suggested the recording and videotaping of Live at the Hollywood Palladium, December 15, 1988. The end result was an album that sold over 100 thousand copies in US and it was well received by both critics and fans of Keith Richards.

Live at the Hollywood Palladium, December 15, 1988 track list:

1. "Take It So Hard"
2. "How I Wish"
3. "I Could Have Stood You Up"
4. "Too Rude" - First covered by The Rolling Stones on the Dirty Work album in 1986
5. "Make No Mistake" featuring Sarah Dash
6. "Time Is on My Side" - an original Rolling Stones hit in US in 1964, featuring Sarah Dash
7. "Big Enough"
8. "Whip It Up"
9. "Locked Away"
10. "Struggle"
11. "Happy" - song originally appearing on the Rolling Stones album, Exile on Main St. in 1972
12. "Connection" - originally appearing on the Rolling Stones album Between the Buttons in 1967
13. "Rockawhile"