sâmbătă, 1 septembrie 2007

Mick Jagger - Wandering Spirit

Mick Jagger's third solo studio album is "Wandering Spirit". It was released in 1993 and marks the only solo release he did in the nineties. Mick tried to re-introduce himself as a solo artist in a surrounding that was definitely changed since his last two projects, "She's The Boss" and "Primitive Cool".

The Rolling Stones recently came from a successful comeback with Steel Wheels, and this was when Keith Richards and Mick Jagger had a very well known feud. That is why Mick started collecting material for "Wandering Spirit". January 1992 saw the singer start recording the project in Los Angeleswith Rick Rubin as co-producer. The whole process took seven months and in September 1992 it was all done. This came as Keith Richards was doing a solo project of his own, "Main Offender". On "Wandering Spirit" there are no celebrities included as featuring acts. The only one that Jagger collaborated with when it comes to voice was Lenny Kravitz on the cover of Bill Withers' track "Use Me". The second and last celebrity on the disc is bassist Flea from the Red Hot Chili Peppers on three tracks.

At that time The Rolling Stones had finished their contract with Sony Music. The band signed with Virgin Records. Mick Jagger eventually signed with Atlantic Records. "Wandering Spirit" was to be his only album with this label and was released in February 1993. Commercially speaking the disc was a success. It reached number 12 in UK and number 11 in USA, together with going gold there. "Sweet Thing" was the track that turned out to be the album's lead single and all together the project brought strong critical reaction. This came mainly because Mick Jagger gave up on synthesizers and took in lean and incisive guitar sounds.

Nowadays analysts consider "Wandering Spirit" as an important point in Mick Jagger's eventual career achievements, together to the follow up in 2001 with "Goddess in the Doorway".

Track Listing:

1. "Wired All Night"
2. "Sweet Thing"
3. "Out Of Focus"
4. "Don't Tear Me Up"
5. "Put Me In The Trash"
6. "Use Me"
7. "Evening Gown"
8. "Mother Of A Man"
9. "Think"
10. "Wandering Spirit"
11. "Hang On To Me Tonight"
12. "I've Been Lonely For So Long"
13. "Angel In My Heart"
14. "Handsome Molly"

Niciun comentariu: