miercuri, 15 august 2007

Mick Jagger - Primitive Cool

"Primitive Cool" is the name of the second solo album signed by Mick Jagger. It was released on the 14th of September 1987 and was recorded in 2 sessions, the first between the 17th of November 1986 and the 18th of December 1986 and the second between January and May 1987. As you could expect, it incorporated rock genre songs and has a length of 42 minutes and 20 seconds. It was the follow up to the successful "She's the Boss" CD launched in 1985 and was produced by Mick Jagger, Keith Diamond and David A. Stewart.

The album was supposed to boost Mick Jagger's solo career even more but sparks flew between him and Keith Richards because the singer refused to tour with The Rolling Stones to promote their album, "Dirty Work", launched in 1986. The reason was starting work on "Primitive Cool". Both men made strong comments in the media at that time.

The joined forces between Mick Jagger, Eurythmics guitarist and songwriter David A. Stewart and Keith Diamond were pretty strong at the time. Jeff Beck was used as the regular guitarist on the album.

The lead single was released in September 1987 and was "Let's Work". Public reaction was not as hot as with "She's the Boss". "Primitive Cool" only reached number 26 in the UK tops and number 41 in the USA. Both "Let's Work" and follow up single "Throwaway" were not strong hits. Mick Jagger only toured the album in Australia and Japan, while the UK and USA were avoided.

"Primitive Cool" was released by CBS and was eventually bought and re-issued by Atlantic Records in 1993, after the release of Mick Jagger's third album, "Wandering Spirit"

Track List:

1. "Throwaway"
2. "Let's Work"
3. "Radio Control"
4. "Say You Will"
5. "Primitive Cool"
6. "Kow Tow"
7. "Shoot Off Your Mouth"
8. "Peace For The Wicked"
9. "Party Doll"
10. "War Baby"

If you want to purchase the album see if it is available online:

Niciun comentariu: